Timing gear has 2 marks

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2017: Timing gear has 2 marks
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By joe macintosh on Sunday, February 12, 2017 - 12:08 pm:

Found a good cast timing gear I need for my engine . It has 2 marks on the gear. One is a circle nd the other is a center punch mark . I am assuming the circle is correct.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Tim Wrenn-Monroeville OH on Sunday, February 12, 2017 - 12:14 pm:

Don't quote me 'cause I'm no expert by any means, but I'd say the circle is some kind of makers mark. I bet it's the punch you need to go by. Pretty sure that's what I've read here before.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Dan McEachern on Sunday, February 12, 2017 - 12:47 pm:

I'm no expert either, but the circle is the factory timing mark. Dan

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By John T. Tannehill III, Hot Coffee, MS on Sunday, February 12, 2017 - 01:18 pm:

Would the punch mark be an advance setting like a 7.5 degree or similar? Oh by the way I'm certainly no expert, I keep hearing I need to pay attention, heck I don't even known him.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By G.R.Cheshire on Sunday, February 12, 2017 - 01:29 pm:

360/48=7.5 so I think 1 tooth would be 7.5 degrees there are 5 teeth between the marks so I think that would be slightly much to advance the engine.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By bob middleton on Sunday, February 12, 2017 - 01:31 pm:

Circle is the stock market