What could be causing this?...

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2017: What could be causing this?...
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Jerry Brancato, Burbank CA on Thursday, February 16, 2017 - 07:30 pm:

Yesterday I took her out for a short spin and everything was fine. During my post-flight inspection I discovered this.Wheel 1Wheel 2Wheel 3Wheel 4Wheel 5
I'm still a newb but I suspect a worn axle oil seal. Could I possibly be right? Thanks, Jerry

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Mike Garrison - Rice, Minnesota on Thursday, February 16, 2017 - 07:37 pm:

Yes. Are you aware of the history of your car. Has the rear end ever been apart?

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Jerry Brancato, Burbank CA on Thursday, February 16, 2017 - 08:37 pm:

Not exactly, Mike. I was told the engine and transmission were rebuilt shortly before I bought it but I have no idea if the thrust washers are babbitt or bronze or brass at this point. Jerry

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Wayne Sheldon, Grass Valley, CA on Thursday, February 16, 2017 - 08:50 pm:

And check out the rear brake attachments, modify or adjust so they don't continue cutting the wheel spokes! Sometimes that is caused by something as simple as turning around a bolt, or bending a cotter pin a little differently.
If only the one spoke is nicked, and only that much? It is probably still okay to use, but should be painted to protect the wood, and make certain nothing is continuing to cut at it.

Rear end could be leaking because the seal has failed, or an old type seal with too much grease or oil in the rear end.