Rear axle

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2017: Rear axle
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Luke----central TX. on Saturday, February 18, 2017 - 10:17 pm:

I have seen several threads recently about rebuilding the rear axle. I'm still fairly new to T's, and I was wondering what are some signs that the rear end needs a rebuild?

Thanks,

Luke

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By John Noonan - Norton, MA. on Saturday, February 18, 2017 - 10:27 pm:

Luke, I think the short answer here is if you are a new owner and don't know if its been rebuilt, then it needs to come out to make sure it has new thrust washers and everything looks good inside. Safety first in this situation because of loss of braking if something fails.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Don Allen - Conroe, TX on Saturday, February 18, 2017 - 11:15 pm:

Luke, I'm new too.

My '24 has been in a barn since '69. I may take the car for a couple low speed laps around the neighborhood once I get it running again, but right after that, I'm pulling the axle apart to inspect it.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Tim Lloid on Saturday, February 18, 2017 - 11:20 pm:

I have driven my 26 for miles but after the last few months of posts about the rear axle I am getting mine built this summer. I don't need to ruin what parts I have. Tim

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Luke----central TX. on Saturday, February 18, 2017 - 11:22 pm:

Sounds like I have some work to do then.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Steve Jelf, Parkerfield KS on Saturday, February 18, 2017 - 11:34 pm: