Steering Wheel Paint

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2017: Steering Wheel Paint
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Bill Elliott on Tuesday, March 14, 2017 - 10:54 am:

I need to re-paint my 1914 steering wheel and was wondering if there is a "correct" type of paint to use. I know Ford painted them black off the assembly line, but is there a paint that works best?

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Robert Brough on Tuesday, March 14, 2017 - 11:24 am:

I'm sure the year provides the answer, but I am a newbie to the hobby. Is the wheel wood or the hard rubber type wheel?

I painted my hard rubber wheel a spray enamel dark brown to match some floorboard mat and it has been holding up and looks like wood from 10ft away.
But I have been spraying some matte black undercoating paint on some sheet metal to replicate a vintage car battery and the flex and softness of it had me wondering if this would make a good paint for a steering wheel.

I presume adhesion to the surface is the key so that it does not wear off in certain areas.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Bill Elliott on Tuesday, March 14, 2017 - 12:28 pm:

It's a wooden wheel.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Colin Mavins Winnipeg,Canada on Tuesday, March 14, 2017 - 01:25 pm:

We did ours with black enamel and after 50 years I repainted it with black enamel Cheers Colin

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Tom Stephens - Arnold, CA on Wednesday, March 15, 2017 - 11:54 am:

Colin,

Might you be able to share a photo?

Tom