First start attempt - lack of experience shows

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2017: First start attempt - lack of experience shows
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Tim Eckensviller - Thunder Bay, ON on Saturday, April 08, 2017 - 08:50 pm:

Hi all,

I'm so close to the first start of my 26 that I can almost taste it. Trouble is, I have no T experience and I just can't read what it's trying to tell me.

To recap what I'm starting with: everything is stock, I have all new wires, cleaned and oiled Tiger timer, timing set per instructions elsewhere on the forum, Holley swayback NH rebuilt and checked by the book, carb needle filed to a point then polished and seated, fibre manifold gaskets with rings on the intake (my exhaust sags - I'll deal with that later), new and clean sediment bulb, and about a gallon of fresh gas that I put in today.

I've had the carb needle between 1 and 2 turns open (in 1/4 turn increments) with and without priming, and with and without using choke when I pull it through. Best I can get is maybe three seconds of fast idle before it quits and I just don't know what combination of efforts are even getting me that far in the first place.

Does anyone have any suggestions or troubleshooting tips for a guy like me who just can't read the car yet?

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Dale Peterson College Place, WA on Saturday, April 08, 2017 - 09:02 pm:

Are you pulling the timing down once it is started?

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Keith Gumbinger, Kenosha, WI on Saturday, April 08, 2017 - 09:11 pm: