How to shift a Hall Scott/Ruckstell

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2017: How to shift a Hall Scott/Ruckstell
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By paul baresel on Monday, May 08, 2017 - 08:19 pm:

Ok, I am a newbie with a Hall Scott transmission on a 26 TT truck. I have been trying to read how to shift the transmission and I am confused when to shift the Ruckstell
First, what is meant by a large drum or small drum Ruckstell?
Why is there no neutral in a Ruckstell? If the Ruckstell transmission is engaged in one of two speeds, will the truck start to move while starting it? Yes, I understand you are either in Ford or Ruckstell, but if the handbrake is at 90 degrees in Ford neutral, will not the engaged Ruckstell try to drive the truck while starting it?
If the clutch is used for the low speed pedal engagement, how is the low pedal and clutch used to shift the Ruckstell?
I do understand that the Ruckstell in my truck is for very low speeds only for climbing hills, parades, or chasing down snails.
Also, reading some of the reproduction Ruckstell sales literature has confused me because I do not think that I have wrapped old technology from a 4-on-the-floor.
Any feedback will be appreciated.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Henry Petrino in Modesto, CA on Monday, May 08, 2017 - 08:52 pm:

I'll try -

1. Large drum - small drum refers to regular Model Ts. It does not apply to a TT.

2. The Ruckstell doesn't need a neutral any more than a stock rear end does. It's in either direct drive or under drive at all times.

3. Handbrake position and the use of the planetary transmission are not effected by the Ruckstell. They work the same as they would without the Ruckstell.