Acetylene tank correct silver paint and decal

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2017: Acetylene tank correct silver paint and decal
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Marty Bufalini - Grosse Pointe, MI on Thursday, May 11, 2017 - 07:40 pm:

Got my tank all nice and stripped, sanded and, primed and ready for paint.
Did a forum search (admittedly, I'm not good at this) and found nothing about what you guys use for the silver paint. What have you used, please?

Also, what decal would be correct for my 1914; black or copper?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Oh, by the way, when I stripped the black paint off the tank, what I thought were paint runs turned out to actually be on the metal. There were little rivulets of what looked like was molten metal that I had to sand down! What could that have been?

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Roger Karlsson, southern Sweden on Thursday, May 11, 2017 - 07:58 pm:

From a 2010 posting on Prestolite tanks by Luke Chennell: "The labeling on the originals is not actually a decal. Instead, the tank was coppered, the label face masked off using a masking lacquer and silkscreen process, and then the tank was nickel plated. The masking lacquer was then removed to reveal the copper plating underneath. The result was a copper lettering under the nickel background."

But there are other ways to get a good look on a Prestolite tank: http://www.mtfca.com/discus/messages/118802/156002.html?1282872554

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Walter Higgins on Thursday, May 11, 2017 - 08:27 pm: