E TIMER vs DISTRIBUTOR?

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2017: E TIMER vs DISTRIBUTOR?
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Paul Sherman Tacoma WA on Tuesday, May 23, 2017 - 06:14 pm:

Last night I was reading my latest copy of The Vintage Ford. On page 53 an advertisement for an E TIMER. This made me realize that I know very little about any "timers". I have been leaning toward a dizzy for my 1919 engine. I really do not need any discussion about going back to a original ignition system. I do understand dizzies as I have had and do have a British car (1960 Bugeye Sprite), but know nothing about timers. How do they differ from a distributor?
Thank you-Paul in Tacoma

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By John Saylor, Citrus Heights, Ca on Tuesday, May 23, 2017 - 06:20 pm:

Read about it here
http://www.modeltetimer.com/E-Timer.html

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Gene Carrothers Huntington Beach on Tuesday, May 23, 2017 - 07:26 pm:

In my Opinion... Disy's look ok on a speedster which is usually a highly modified T but on a stock looking Model T they look out of place.

Yes they perform OK but I have been on many tours where something failed and nobody had a spare coil or set of points. Everybody had a spare T coil or a timer to lend. That's one of the advantages of the Etimer. It's as simple as changing the timer back to a stock one that nearly every T carries.
It also has some performance advantages as well.

Thanks John for posting the link

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Charlie B actually in Toms River N.J. on Tuesday, May 23, 2017 - 08:52 pm: