1926 Carburetor Mixture Adjustment

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2017: 1926 Carburetor Mixture Adjustment
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Randy Roberson on Wednesday, May 31, 2017 - 03:34 pm:

Hi, I am new to the Model T world so I have a question: does the mixture adjustment have limits at each direction of rotation, or will it just continue to turn in one direction?
My car seems to require more and more fiddling with the mixture adjustment to keep it running. I plan to dismantle and clean the carb up, thinking that it may have dirt or varnish from a lot of sitting around.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Norman T. Kling on Wednesday, May 31, 2017 - 03:43 pm:

Turning clockwise leans the mixture. It will usually misfire and/or stop running before the mixture knob is all the way in, but be careful not to force the needle. You can damage the needle if you turn it down too tight. In fact, that could be why you have to keep "fiddling". The needle is cone shaped and when it becomes worn, it gets a groove in it and will then be hard to get the best adjustment.

Turning counter clockwise richens the mixture. It will usually begin to lope and run rough maybe even blow some black smoke as you enrichen the mixture. The best place to run the engine is half way between too lean and too rich where it runs the smoothest.
Norm

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Brad Marble on Wednesday, May 31, 2017 - 03:47 pm: