Patching the '14 fenders - alternate method

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2017: Patching the '14 fenders - alternate method
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Richard Eagle Idaho Falls on Saturday, June 03, 2017 - 04:49 pm:

These rear fenders turned out to be from the touring body and frame I have been working on for a few years now. Better methods or replacement would be in order for a fine restoration but this one is not that. I have always admired the back yard fixes I have found on some panels and fenders. I was blessed with 4 pounds of #8 machine screws so this is an opportunity to use some up.

The first step was to true the fender to shape and braze the cracks.

Then after persuading a panel into place a patch was cut, drilled and screwed.

The outer lip had rusted and much was detached from the fender. Spot brazing and a piece of wire will hold it in place for some time. The mounting flange to the running board was badly rusted so these patches were made and screwed in place.

Over the years I have restored fenders and built new ones for some of my cars. This project is less demanding and as much fun or more than doing it right.
I show these for those who might be amused by it and not a recommendation of how it should be done. However, I learn lots that could be useful each time I try something.
Rich

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Stephen, South Texas on Saturday, June 03, 2017 - 06:46 pm:

I'm sure you must be proud of your work but I'm not amused. We are only custodians of the cars and parts for the time they're in our possession. Now the fender is ruined forever. Over one hundred years of life and history just ended for that fender.