Band Linings making me Crazy

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2017: Band Linings making me Crazy
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Mark Osterman on Monday, June 05, 2017 - 11:36 am:

I relined my Ford detachable bands with Kevlar linings. Have done this installation before and with no problems on my other T. I'm a good driver and also have never had problems with driving with Kevlar.

This time was different. I had to use a clamp to get them tight enough to wire up ... and then when I installed the hogs head fitting to the springs and getting the nuts on was a nightmare. The nuts are on the last threads of the shafts and the bands are making full contact with the drums

I installed the engine, put in some oil and and tried pulling on the crank and the engine turned, but it took a lot of effort. I'm afraid of the consequences of starting this engine in this condition. Can't imaging I'll get any oil between the bands and the drums.

My sense was that these Kevlar linings were actually thicker material than the ones I had used in the past. Is this possible? What now? Sounds like I'm going to need to remove the hogs head ... toss those linings and either find where to get thinner Kevlar ... or standard cotton.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Tim Rogers - South of the Adirondacks on Monday, June 05, 2017 - 11:58 am:

You can never go wrong with OE cotton bands. You're asking for possible trouble with Kevlar...

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Mark Gregush Portland Oregon on Monday, June 05, 2017 - 12:05 pm: