Rear axle and bearings

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2017: Rear axle and bearings
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Luke----central TX. on Saturday, June 17, 2017 - 02:46 am:

I've had the rear axle out of Henry long enough, and I'm trying to gather the parts I need to put him back together again. I have yet to put together a complete list of what is needed, but I know I need new bearings as the old ones literally fell apart. Where is the best place to find good bearings?

We've had Henry for about 2 years, but I'm still new to T's. If there's anything that anybody would recommend replacing (I already have the thrust washers on the list) I will gladly accept any advice and helpful hints.

Thanks,

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Rick Duquette Grand Forks, ND on Saturday, June 17, 2017 - 07:33 am:

Luke, I'm wrapping up my first axle rebuild on a 25 Touring. Instead of listing the parts you need my advice is get the Chaffin/mtfca book on front and rear axles and read it. Watch the Jelf's you tube axle rebuild video, and look at the great new and stored information on this forum. The Fun Projects pinion set up, good used Hyatt bearings with new sleeves, new thrust washers all around helped too. And know when to walk out of the shop instead of finding a bigger hammer is always good.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By tommy coffey on Saturday, June 17, 2017 - 08:21 am: