Removing Front Wheel

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2017: Removing Front Wheel
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Jerry Brancato, Burbank CA on Monday, June 26, 2017 - 10:19 pm:

I need to remove my wheel to have it respoked and I've never done this before. I got the cotter pin out and the castle nut off but I'm not sure as to the next step. To pull the wheel off, do I need to remove the roller bearing or do I apply jaw pullers at this point to get it off? And if the bearing has to be removed, what is the proper method and tool?Front Wheel

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Dave Frost on Monday, June 26, 2017 - 10:23 pm:

The next piece in line has to be removed. Unscrews the same way as the castle nut.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By John Noonan - Norton, MA. on Monday, June 26, 2017 - 10:27 pm:

Jerry, the outer bearings thread onto the axle. The R/S is turned clockwise to loosen, and the drivers side is turned counter clockwise to loosen. After the outer bearings are off, you should be able to pull the wheel off.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Jerry Brancato, Burbank CA on Monday, June 26, 2017 - 10:33 pm:

Thanks. Will I need a special tool? I'm leery about using channel locks or a vice grip.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By John Noonan - Norton, MA. on Monday, June 26, 2017 - 10:34 pm:

Meant to say spindle, not axle. :-)

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Dave Frost on Monday, June 26, 2017 - 10:38 pm:

Big adjustable wrench will work fine.