Car not starting..owner lost

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2017: Car not starting..owner lost
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Dennis Wells on Friday, July 28, 2017 - 05:24 pm:

I took the car out for a ride the other night...ran fine. I parked the car for a couple of hours.. hopped back in. Started the car and drove about 20 yards, and it died...lost all electrical power.

It does nothing when stepping on the starter...no headlamps, but the horn works. Battery tests good. I checked the wiring from the battery all the way to the ignition switch, all seems to be good. I jumped across the starter switch and nothing.

I am a newbie to the T's, and the experts here have helped me solve a couple of other issues...so here I am again...HELP!

Like I had said, I am a newbie, and have struggled a bit on some other issues, but electrical is my weak point..haha.

If I was to take an educated guess, I would say ignition switch. But don't know if that makes sense since the car was running and died...any and all help appreciated.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Steve Jelf, Parkerfield KS on Friday, July 28, 2017 - 05:38 pm:

Sounds like a weak ground. Check to be sure the ground cable has a good, tight, clean connection to the battery and the frame. I assume your wiring check included the other battery cable (F/G). When the car died, was it running on MAG, or BAT?

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Verne Shirk on Friday, July 28, 2017 - 05:42 pm:

6V takes twice the amperage as 12V to perform the same task. That means the connections have to be "good" and clean. "Good" meaning, you need more than just a small point of contact.