Rust clogged block. Non T

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2017: Rust clogged block. Non T
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Aaron Griffey, Hayward Ca. on Tuesday, August 22, 2017 - 12:12 am:

I have been working on an MGTD for four years.
The car sat in an attached garage from '84 until I hauled it out in 2013.
After going through the carbs I got it running just fine, a few minutes at a time. The water pump leaked badly.
After replacing it and and all brake cylinders and tubes the owner decided we needed to take the body apart and pain it.
Now that that's all done I installed a new radiator and started it up again.
It runs fine but boils the water in five minutes..
I removed the water pump today and found the water passages to the pump are rusted closed.
Where the water goes back around the front cylinder on each side of the cylinder it was plugged tight.
After poking a small hole in the rust a half gallon of water gushed out.
I would like to make a plate to cover the block where the water pump came off and fill the engine's water jacket with something to make rust go away.
I already tried SLR or RLS or LSR.
So what can I pour in to get the rust dissolved?

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Spencer Vibert - Granby ,CT on Tuesday, August 22, 2017 - 12:14 am:

evapo rust

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Robert Brough on Tuesday, August 22, 2017 - 09:34 am:

Will you, like the T blocks, probably loose your freeze plugs when you remove the rust?

Presume this is iron or steel block, not aluminum?

I have had good luck using phosphoric acid. Ospho from the auto paint suplly shops. Converts some of the surface rust back to metal and flakes off the loose rust.