Rear Axle Rebuilds for Dummies?

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2017: Rear Axle Rebuilds for Dummies?
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Tim Eckensviller - Thunder Bay, ON on Thursday, September 07, 2017 - 12:10 am:

Hi all,

While I'm watching the mailbox this week and waiting for a parts order to come in, I figure I may as well do my homework so I can make quick work of the parts. The project is the rear axle for my 26 farm pickup and while I've carefully studied the rear axle book I've never done anything like this before. My rebuild will use a bunch of parts original to the car plus some serviceable original replacements and some new parts as well.

I think the most intimidating thing to me is making it all fit and mesh properly. I see references made to setting X thousandths of clearance and adjusting the thickness of washers and whatnot and I wonder how I'll ever do that in my little single car garage. My question I guess is if anyone could help walk me through it all. What will I need for basic tools for this outside of what you'd already find in a well stocked home toolbox? What's the order of operations for the differential and thrust washer assembly? Do I need to find a lathe or milling machine or would sanding/filing/grinding cut it if I'm careful enough? And so on...

Any help appreciated, I'm out of my depth right now but not afraid to learn new things. Thanks in advance!

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Matt the Headlight Lens Guy n California on Thursday, September 07, 2017 - 02:06 am:

Tim,
This is the best I could do:
http://www.mtfca.com/discus/messages/708324/762844.html?1500181914

I hope this helps!

Matthew