Holley Vaporizer Carb

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2017: Holley Vaporizer Carb
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Travis Praller on Wednesday, September 13, 2017 - 11:32 pm:

Hello everyone, I'm new to the Model T world and am having some trouble with the atmospheric valve leaking gas once the fuel line is open. Carb has been recently rebuilt with new gaskets. Any suggestions??

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Mark Gregush Portland Oregon on Wednesday, September 13, 2017 - 11:46 pm:

RE atmospheric valve leaking gas? I think I know what you are asking about but you are using unknown descriptions of parts.
The illustrations in this postings will give you the correct terms.
http://www.mtfca.com/discus/messages/411944/416013.html

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Travis Praller on Thursday, September 14, 2017 - 08:48 am:

In illustration number 98 on the above link, the part labeled "M" as atmospheric valve to float is where the gas is coming out of.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Bruce Compton on Thursday, September 14, 2017 - 09:19 am:

The only way fuel can escape from the vent (M) has to be due to flooding. Check the gasket under the seat, the sealing of the needle in the seat, and the float for leaks as any one of the three will allow flooding. Good luck :Bruce

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Travis Praller on Thursday, September 14, 2017 - 10:34 am:

It must have been flooded. I shut off the fuel valve and started it to let it run out of the gas that was left in the carb and the lines, after that it's not leaking anymore. Thanks for the help.