Setting up a new mag

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2017: Setting up a new mag
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Steve Addington on Monday, September 18, 2017 - 06:35 pm:

I am pulling my engine tomorrow morning to install a new mag. I do not have any of the Ford tools for setting the clearances. Is there another way to do this so the end product will be correct? I have never done this before even with the proper tools so any other advice you can share would be appreciated. I want this absolutely right when I am done. Thanks

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By David Menzies on Monday, September 18, 2017 - 07:03 pm:

This may not be technically correct but it is a Model T. The main bearings maintain the end play of the crankshaft, if the end play is reasonable the coils can be shimed to the correct distance, I believe the max is about .030 - .032. An additional quick fix for excessive end play is to shim (spacer washer) between the front pulley and the block. Large bronze washers are available for different applications. Find the right thickness and place it between the pulley and the block until the end play is minimal then adjust the coil assembly with the shims.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Val Soupios on Monday, September 18, 2017 - 07:55 pm: