Hyatt outer bearing stuck on TT rear

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2017: Hyatt outer bearing stuck on TT rear
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Bryan Williams on Monday, October 09, 2017 - 09:56 am:

Hello, I'm a new member and new to T's, but have wrenched on rigs all my life as I'm a farmer. I had to work on everything out of necessity. Anyway, I'm working on my 25 TT, replacing the seals on the rear end. I completed one side with not much trouble, but the other side is dealing me a fit. I can't get the bearing out. It spins free, but only moves about 1/16 inch back and forth. I suspect it has worn a groove in the sleeve or fell behind the sleeve. Has anyone out there had this problem and what was the fix? I could use some help on this one. Pulling my hair out (what little I have left). Thanks, Bryan

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Hal Davis-SE Georgia on Monday, October 09, 2017 - 10:15 am:

I suspect either a groove worn in the axle or else in the sleeve. See if you can determine which, and maybe you can force the ends of the rollers up out of the groove. Maybe holding some "pull" pressure on the cage will allow you to work the rollers out without them falling back in as you work on the next one. I had the same problem on mine. Been years, but I know I did finally get them out and replaced the sleeves.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Scott Conger - Wyoming on Monday, October 09, 2017 - 11:31 am:

Bryan