New to the club and Model T's!

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2017: New to the club and Model T's!
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Rick Milczanowski on Tuesday, October 10, 2017 - 04:43 pm:

Hi all,

I'm a newbie with some questions and would love some advice. This past weekend I picked up a 1915 Speedster with a numbers matching rebuilt engine and rebuilt front end...or so I thought.

I'm not able to crank start it as the motor is just too stiff, so I checked all the fluids and pull started it in high gear. She fired up and ran rough, but managed an idle and short low speed drive. The issue came when I made a left turn and the front wheels got squirrely - extending to the left then quickly back all the way right - almost out of control.

I jacked up the front end and all seemed to be tight. I have about 1.5 - 2 inches of play in the steering. This thing is just too dangerous to drive until I figure it out. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Rick Milczanowski on Tuesday, October 10, 2017 - 04:45 pm:

I also forget to mention that with adjusting the mixture, spark, and throttle, I still couldn't get a smooth engine.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Mark Strange - Hillsboro, MO on Tuesday, October 10, 2017 - 04:55 pm:

Welcome!

http://dauntlessgeezer.com/DG52.html

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By George n LakeOzark,Missourah on Tuesday, October 10, 2017 - 05:03 pm:

Had the engine been recently rebuilt ??
How long had the car been sitting ??
How old is the gas in the tank ??

Oh and welcome to the Forum, great place for answers to your questions.