30x3 tires on 30x3 1/2 rim

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2017: 30x3 tires on 30x3 1/2 rim
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Daniel Kraft on Sunday, October 29, 2017 - 06:49 pm:

I just scored two really nice nonskid tires in 30x3 but my rims are 30x3 1/2 I've always wanted nonskids on my car. Could these be used with my rims, or is that too much of a stretch?

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Mark Strange - Hillsboro, MO on Sunday, October 29, 2017 - 07:00 pm:

It's the other way, they're too big:

30 - 2 x 3 = 24 inch rim

30 - 2 x 3.5 = 23 inch rim

I have no experience with a 30x3 on a rim designed for a 30x3.5 inch tire.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Scott Conger - Wyoming on Sunday, October 29, 2017 - 07:12 pm:

My dad put 30 x 3 on the front of his car (demountable rims) because he knew from reading that this was the correct configuration (not realizing that demountables took all 30 x 3 1/2).

He puttered around town to the tune of about 3000 miles without a problem. Would I do that? NO!!! I'd never get away with it. I never realized this until he gave me some of his extra demountable rims and when I popped the tire off with my hands I realized what he'd done. He told me his tire guy loved it and impressed my dad by putting them on without tire irons. Indeed!!

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Rich Bingham, Blackfoot, Idaho on Sunday, October 29, 2017 - 07:41 pm:

Yup. 30x3-1/2" run on a 23" rim, 30x3" on a 24" rim. No go.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Norman T. Kling on Sunday, October 29, 2017 - 08:09 pm: