Lifting a T with a jack.

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2017: Lifting a T with a jack.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By David Nebelsky on Monday, October 30, 2017 - 06:09 pm:

Hello to everybody. I am still pretty new to Model T's and have been following the forum for awhile now. It still amazes me how much knowledge and information one can find on this website. Thanks to everyone who posts.

My T is a 1915 touring from Canada (with the 4 doors). I need to pull the rear wheels and just wanted to make sure that it is ok to jack up the rear end putting the jack under the axle tube. If not, where is the safest place to put the jack so as to not damage the car? On the same note, is it ok to jack up the front end putting the jack under the front axle?Rear axle tube1915 T Thank you in advance for your help.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Tim Rogers - South of the Adirondacks on Monday, October 30, 2017 - 06:15 pm:

Yes, under the tube close to the wheel- NOT under the differential.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By John Codman on Monday, October 30, 2017 - 06:16 pm:

Nice Car! I jack my '27 by the outer ends of the axle tubes and so far no wheels have fallen off, no explosions, the horn hasn't stuck. I think that using the tubes is fine.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Steve Jelf, Parkerfield KS on Monday, October 30, 2017 - 09:53 pm:

As Tim says, jack near the ends both in front and in back. You probably won't bend anything jacking in the center, but I'd rather not risk it.

I made an adapter to lift both sides together.