1911 torpedo questions

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2017: 1911 torpedo questions
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By R.V. Anderson on Wednesday, November 01, 2017 - 05:21 pm:

A friend just got the shipping invoice on his car. It states that the car has a "C" head. Anyone know what that signifies? Bob also told me that he just learned that engines used in the torpedo had higher compression, and a lighter flywheel. Can anyone verify that? I never heard that before.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Les Gitts - Ferndale, WA on Wednesday, November 01, 2017 - 09:28 pm:

I'm no expert, but I've never read that in any of the books I've seen on Model T's

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Mike-Iowa on Wednesday, November 01, 2017 - 09:47 pm:

RV, I have an original 1911 Torpedo. The engine is restored but is not fully assembled. It is basic 1911 T engine, nothing unusual at all. I would say that what is being implied is a myth, probably a misconception about the otherwise uniqueness of the Torpedo.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Thomas Mullin on Wednesday, November 01, 2017 - 10:19 pm:

Sounds like the cylinder head is the T-401C version. McCalley's Model T Encyclopedia shows that as being used with the T-400B thermo-siphon cylinder block.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By R.V. Anderson on Thursday, November 02, 2017 - 10:45 am:

I was pretty sure that this was another myth, but Bob seemed happily adamant.

Thanks for the info.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Hap Tucker in Sumter SC on Thursday, November 02, 2017 - 07:22 pm: