Tips for a 1915 Coilbox?

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2017: Tips for a 1915 Coilbox?
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By James Chochole, Oswego, IL on Saturday, November 25, 2017 - 09:32 pm:

I am new to the 1915 model coilbox. I recently removed the old "Defender" lock-out aftermarket accessory and am headed back to stock. I am uploading a pic of my current switch front.

I am asking what is missing here, an iron plate and brass embossed cover and key? Or a combo of the both?

I welcome any insights here.

Thanks,
Jim

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Wayne Sheldon, Grass Valley, CA on Saturday, November 25, 2017 - 10:37 pm:

Looks like a standard '13/'17 switch. Did you have much trouble finding the "Defender"s secret removal trick?
Maybe all you need for this is is the cover (repros aren't exactly like the originals, but most people do not mind), three small screws (brass round head, I don't recall whether they are number 4 or 6?), and a key (repro usually works fine, but sometimes needs a minor adjustment with a small file).

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By James Chochole, Oswego, IL on Saturday, November 25, 2017 - 11:00 pm:

Actually I found the trick to removing the Defender quite by accident the center disk right around the key just started to turn so I just kept turning and came right off.

Thank you for the help on the missing parts.

Jim

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Steve Jelf, Parkerfield KS on Saturday, November 25, 2017 - 11:27 pm:

You're very lucky to have a switch case that looks to be in great shape. A lot of them are too far gone to use.