Question from First Time T Owner Re: Babbit Thrust Washers

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2017: Question from First Time T Owner Re: Babbit Thrust Washers
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Gene Emering on Saturday, December 02, 2017 - 10:46 pm:

Is there a tutorial on how to check the rear for babbitt thrust washers?
Would these washers not have come with the car from the factory?
I take it that not having these washers is a safety issue?
Are there pictures or videos that show what to check for?
I have little to no mechanical knowledge, but am hell-bent on learning some!
Thank you,
Gene

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Cameron Whitaker, Oklahoma City on Saturday, December 02, 2017 - 10:50 pm:

Let me be the first to post this :-)

http://dauntlessgeezer.com/DG79.html

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Gene Emering on Saturday, December 02, 2017 - 10:57 pm:

Thank you Cameron and Larry!

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Gene Emering on Saturday, December 02, 2017 - 11:06 pm:

Where can I get the replacement washers?

Thanks again!

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Thomas Mullin on Saturday, December 02, 2017 - 11:09 pm:

Gene,

Get in touch with one or more of these New Jersey chapters of the MTFCA and MTFCI. It is so good, and a lot of fun, to have other Model t folks to help you along.

For MTFCA:
mtfca

for MTFCI:
mtfci

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Gene Emering on Saturday, December 02, 2017 - 11:24 pm:

I see that Lang's has the brass thrust washers.