Accelerator rod too short?

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2017: Accelerator rod too short?
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Scott on Tuesday, December 26, 2017 - 12:06 am:

I am still very new to the model T universe. I recently bought a '26 roadster. When I bought it the guy told me the accelerator rod was home made and not long enough. So I ordered the right one from the Lang's catalog and put it on. Still doesn't seem long enough. It keeps the carb a quarter to half open when the rod is all the way up on the column. The carb appears to be an NH on a standard manifold/ non vaporizer.

What am I doing wrong?

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Wayne Sheldon, Grass Valley, CA on Tuesday, December 26, 2017 - 01:14 am:

The silly thing is, a lot of us could likely figure out what is wrong in about one minute up close and personal. But without a close look? It is mostly guesswork.
Could be the arm on the throttle handle-rod was replaced, and hole drilled was rotated slightly. The arm on the carburetor could be bent (I had one like that one time). The idle stop screw could be maladjusted. And maybe the new throttle rod you just got is defective. Is anything unusual with the manifolds that could change the length requirements.
I have never had a '26. Is the steering column set slightly more to the left than the earlier cars were?