What should I check?

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2017: What should I check?
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By William Hoffer on Thursday, December 28, 2017 - 07:14 am:

Hello, I am about to dive into my "new" 1911 T, and am wondering what to check. I will go through the Dauntless Geezer list (which is excellent and very much appreciated) and have had Ron P. rebuild/adjust the coils. I have read the discussion on the UJ pin, and will make sure it is in there. What else may be lurking and should be checked? Cheers, Bill

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Steve Addington on Thursday, December 28, 2017 - 07:55 am:

I am pretty new to the T world and by no means very experienced, but among other things I would check the wheels for loose spokes.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Hal Davis-SE Georgia on Thursday, December 28, 2017 - 08:07 am:

Make sure you don't have Babbitt thrust washers in your differential.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By G.R.Cheshire (La Florida!) on Thursday, December 28, 2017 - 08:20 am:

Pull the inspection cover off the transmission and look at the condition of your bands and drums, it's hard but try to wiggle the triple gears they should not have a lot of movement.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Tim Rogers - South of the Adirondacks on Thursday, December 28, 2017 - 08:31 am: