More Speed Please

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2009: More Speed Please
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Jeremy Locke on Saturday, November 28, 2009 - 02:06 am:

Any Quick Tips to get more speed. Today my GPS clocked my top speed at 35 MPH. I suppose not to bad for a big fordor. I could be driving the darn thing wrong since I am self taught. Its pretty much a stock engine. I do have a water pump which I probably do not need but I don't have the parts to convert to a non water pump. How many MPH is that taking from me?

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Grady Puryear on Saturday, November 28, 2009 - 09:15 am:

Mr. Locke, you are fixing to get more advice than you ever wanted, and here is a snippet. A four door is not the fastest of T's, it is bigger and heavier. Your 35 MPH is not that bad, it is a realistic figure for a basic, stock T with probably a lot of miles. I am guessing that since you are self taught that you may not be advancing the spark (the thing on the left side of the steering column), in my experience most new drivers do not have that part of driving down. When you get the car up and moving good, pull the spark lever down till you find you car's sweet spot. Try that and get back to us before you start putting on Z heads and etc. Remember, the faster you go, the longer it takes to stop one of these things. The water pump issue is also going to generate a lot of comments, it does not affect your speed that much, if any.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Ricks - Surf City on Saturday, November 28, 2009 - 10:29 am:

Your post did not say what year car, so I had to go to your profile to see what you had.