Shackles bumping axle

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2009: Shackles bumping axle
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Carl Klem on Friday, December 11, 2009 - 09:16 pm:

The shackles on my '23 rest on the axle. I am new to T's, but I am learning! There are 8 leaves on top of the hanger leaf. I would call some of them tapered. To me, it seems like the hanger leaf is too long?? See my pix, see what I mean! Any ideas?

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By jack daron-Indy. on Friday, December 11, 2009 - 09:29 pm:

Front,rear? body style? Off hand ,I'd say your spring bushings are shot.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Ken Kopsky on Friday, December 11, 2009 - 09:34 pm:

Either my computer is broken or I'm going blind. I don't see any pictures.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Carl Klem on Friday, December 11, 2009 - 09:39 pm:

Hey, I'm new to this. I would sure rather be out fiddlin with my car than sittin here, but I thought I would give it a try. What I like about the T is that it is simple, this isn't! At least for a beginner!

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Carl Klem on Friday, December 11, 2009 - 09:47 pm:

Here goes, I am going to try to post some images, again. If it doesn't work, I'm going back out to the garage. Oh, as the pictures (hopefully) will show, it's the front axle!Right ShackleLeft Shackle

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By jack daron-Indy. on Friday, December 11, 2009 - 09:59 pm: