Wrong Brake Drum

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2009: Wrong Brake Drum
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Gary Mittrucker on Friday, December 18, 2009 - 11:04 pm:

I am a newbie to this forum looking for a 26 wide Brake Drum for a transmission. I recently purchase a 26 model T coupe not knowing much about them. I ran across problems when I took the motor and tranny out. I wanted to check everything to make sure I had a sound motor and transmission. I first realize a problem when I took the tranny cover plate off to check the linings. Only to find a narrow brake drum. Then after I have taken the motor apart to find bigger problems. Someone had put in a 1919 motor and tranny according to the serial numbers. Thats why the bands were all narrow. They used the 26 hogshead on this I guess to keep the pedals the same. I am glad I did take the motor apart to only find more problems. The babbitts for the mains are bad. The mag needs replacing, the pistons and valves are worn. I will have to get a complete engine rebuild. Well Effingham Regrind is going to do the babbitts. And a speed shop close to home will do the cylinders and valves. I need to find a 26 wide brake drum that is good. Please let me know.

Thanks Gary

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Steven Thum on Friday, December 18, 2009 - 11:21 pm: