First visit to Piquette, and a question they couldn't answer

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2018: First visit to Piquette, and a question they couldn't answer
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Gary Blake, Kansas City on Sunday, January 14, 2018 - 12:20 pm:

Had a very enjoyable first visit to the home of the Model T yesterday, cold, very cold but still enjoyed seeing it. I've been attending car shows of all types for many decades, and I was aware of early two pedal T's but I'm not sure I had ever seen one in the flesh so to speak so that was interesting. I don't recall seeing the early ribbed running boards before. And those very early tops sure had a lot of parts I didn't expect, many of them appearing to be forged. Lots of opportunities to simplify and reduce costs there.

I did take the guided tour, which due to the low temps was cut short on the top floor, to reduce exposure of our tour group to the elements.

As for the question the guide was unsure of, I noticed the 3 pedals on the N,R, and S, cars on display. I asked the guide if they were the same as a 3 pedal Model T. He thought they were but seemed a little unsure. Also, Rob Heyen was kind enough to give me a spin around the block in his K last summer in Lincoln Nebraska, and I seem to recall his K was a two pedal/two lever car.

Can someone enlighten me about the controls of the letter cars which predated the T?

As for the visit, if you have even a passing interest in T's or old cars or history it is a must see.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Steve Jelf, Parkerfield KS on Sunday, January 14, 2018 - 12:37 pm:

I agree, it's a swell joint, with lots of neat early cars and other stuff to see. I'll go again the next time I'm up that way.