Transmission Next Steps, or "After The Lost Key Fiasco"

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2018: Transmission Next Steps, or "After The Lost Key Fiasco"
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By William Hoffer on Friday, February 16, 2018 - 03:50 pm:

So I am way deeper into this project than I ever thought I would be. After retrieving the lost key, (see I Bought A Bore Scope thread) I now have the transmission guts exposed. My question to you experts is what should I do before buttoning it all up again?

My thoughts: the bands have a lot of meat left on them. I could go to kevlar now, but I am a rank newbie - never have driven a T - and wonder if kevlar is above my pay grade? I have read all of the arguments, which are a lot, and I recall that kevlar has a specific break-in routine before they are easy to use. Should I continue with what I have, thinking it would be easier and more forgiving for a beginner to drive?

The drums have some light corrosion on them. The former owner kept the car in his private museum and it did not get driven much. I can clean the corrosion off, is there anything else I should do to the drum surfaces?

To what extent should I try to scrub the interior of the transmission? Is it unwise to dislodge a bunch of dirt, or is a clean transmission a happy transmission?

Should I do something extra to try and seal the pedal shafts?

Are there any tips to make reinstalling the hogshead easier or more successful?

I do plan to renew any safety wire I can reach. The existing ones are pretty shaky, I think. I have one of those tools that hold the bands while you put them together. I also measured everything before I disassembled the transmission, so I can put everything back as I found it UNLESS I change the bands!

Thanks in advance, Bill