Wood bands

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2018: Wood bands
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By John Mosher on Wednesday, February 21, 2018 - 10:14 am:

I did the google mtfca search, and there wasn’t to much info on wood bands. There’s a lot info about cotton and Kevlar. I’m a fairly new t driver,and the t that I purchased a year ago came with kevlar well to make a long story short I couldn’t find a good neutral. So after many attempts to adjust the bands and the linkage I think I turned my transmission into a pile of junk. The reverse and low drum are in pieces. So I was looking for what the mtfca has to say about the durability of wood. I live in a area that’s busy with cars, traffic lights, stop signs and hills. So my low band is used a lot

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Mark Gregush Portland Oregon on Wednesday, February 21, 2018 - 10:39 am:

Try; mtfca; wood bands
There should be pages of info. There will be some that might not look like they contain people talking about the wood bands, but they do. If you are trying to use the reverse as a brake, don't, there are a lot of discussions on that. The reverse drum is the weakest in the link. Could be that you are not clamping down on the band and are allowing it to slip, which creates heat that leads to breakage or are getting them too tight or the drums were cracked to start with.