Removing Bent Crank

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2018: Removing Bent Crank
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Gene Emering on Sunday, February 25, 2018 - 01:33 pm:

I removed the cotter pin and bolt (pictured) from the crank on my '24 touring. Is there anything else holding the crank in or should it now slide out from the front? Seems to be stuck and I don't want to force it.
I am a newbie with zero mechanical ability.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Steve Tomaso - Longbranch,WA on Sunday, February 25, 2018 - 01:46 pm:

Just pull like heck - in & out like a slide hammer - it's just stuck !

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Mark Strange - Hillsboro, MO on Sunday, February 25, 2018 - 01:47 pm:

It should slide out. Is the shaft of the crank stuck in the ratchet part (the part with the teeth that engage the crank pulley pin), or is it hanging up in the bushing at the front of the engine pan?

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Rich Bingham, Blackfoot, Idaho on Sunday, February 25, 2018 - 01:47 pm:

Ordinarily the hand crank would slip out the front leaving the ratchet to fall in the "cup" of the pan where the crankshaft pulley runs. Why do you ask about a bent hand crank ? Can you see it's bent ? If it is, being sprung could make it bind in the bushing - otherwise, it's possible the ratchet is rusted onto the hand crank. Can you show us pictures ?

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Steve Tomaso - Longbranch,WA on Sunday, February 25, 2018 - 01:47 pm: