Another Guy's First Rear Axle Rebuild

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2018: Another Guy's First Rear Axle Rebuild
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Don - Conroe, TX on Monday, March 19, 2018 - 12:19 pm:

So here goes....I'm going to tackle rebuilding the rear end on my 24 Touring.

I figured I'd start a thread for just this project, separate from the build threads (2017 and 2018) for my car, because this looks to be sort of a build of its own.

I'm not a novice mechanic, but I am learning Model T's for the first time so I'll be looking to this super knowledgeable community for advice, knowledge and tips as I go along.

First things first. Removal.

In addition to the rear end rebuild, I'll be changing out the wheels to a very nice set of original 21" wheels, rims, etc (see below)and will probably need to swap out spring shackles. I'll also take a look at rear brakes, the overall condition of the spring set itself, the driveshaft and I'll be replacing the spare tire carrier with one for 21" rims.

So...taking all that into consideration, would it be prudent for me to just take out the whole unit...rear spring, axle, wheels, radius rods, driveshaft and all....as one big chunk?

Here's the rear of the car as it sits now.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Steve Jelf, Parkerfield KS on Monday, March 19, 2018 - 12:26 pm:

I can't think of a reason not to.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Rick Duquette Grand Forks, ND on Monday, March 19, 2018 - 12:30 pm:

Just finished rebuilding the rear end on my 25 Touring. I separated the rear axle from the spring, unbolted the drive shaft and took out the axle, radius rods and driveshaft all at one time.