Oops-- Help me avoid frying something

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2018: Oops-- Help me avoid frying something
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Arthur Babitz on Sunday, May 27, 2018 - 07:52 pm:

I'm very new to Model T's so I could use some wisdom before I risk frying my engine or transmission.

As an engineer I know never to change more than one thing at a time, but...

1) I had an exhaust leak, so I took off the old manifold and replaced it, along with the glands/rings/ etc.

2) While I had the carburetor off I replaced the choke spring and choke plate,

3) Since one of my Welch plugs was leaking I replaced it with a nice buffalo nickel.

4) While the plug was out, I flushed water through the cooling system, clearing out all sorts of gross stuff. I was lazy and used the Welch plug hole as the drain since it was already out, and splashed a good amount of water all around.

5) My parking brake rebuild kit arrived so I started that job. I had to leave one brake rod disconnected because I need another part, so only the right side parking brake is connected and functional.

6) I replaced the screen in the sediment bulb-- it was totally packed with crud so I have no idea how I was getting fuel. But I cleaned the bowl and everything was running clear.