New Member Questions about my car

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2018: New Member Questions about my car
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By jrosenfelder86@gmail.com on Tuesday, June 19, 2018 - 03:12 pm:

I am new to the Model T world. I'll have a lot of questions and need some advice.

I have a 1927 Model T touring.

The car has matching engine and chassis numbers from April 1927.

Would this car have had wooden wheels?

The Fan pulley looks like an older style, not attached to the water outlet. Could this be original?

(Actually the engine pictured has been replaced with what was the original matching one, but is configured the same.) I'm sure I'll have many more questions. Working on the top next.

Thanks.

'27 T

'27 t engine

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Tim Eckensviller - Thunder Bay, ON on Tuesday, June 19, 2018 - 03:42 pm:

Congrats on getting a T!

Generally speaking, these cars are basically automotive Lego so a lot of things can be mixed and matched between different production years. The fan bracket for sure isn't correct for the year, nor is the linkage to the carburetor. I see you also have an aftermarket alternator in place of the original generator. I'm sure other changes have been made to the car over the years, it is ninety one after all, but if it runs fine the way it is there are plenty of people who would encourage you to just enjoy it.

The most pressing need I can see in those pics is to swap out that fuel line for the stock arrangement. Those in-line filters can be prone to causing a restriction in fuel flow.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Steve Jelf, Parkerfield KS on Tuesday, June 19, 2018 - 04:20 pm: