Pin found in trans

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2018: Pin found in trans
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Les Rens on Monday, July 02, 2018 - 01:24 am:

I am a newbie T owner, having bought one last year. A 26 touring, in basically complete and runnable condition. I have driven around the block couple of times. First gear and reverse and trans brakes working. I have not tried 2 gear yet.

Have been through some trans adjustments, trying to figure things out. Took the cover off and found a pin laying on the top of the bands. Where does it belong?? And how to solve issue?. I have not found anyone in my city with T trans knowledge. It was running, and I backed it into my garage, with pin not in place. I put some trans cover bolts in pic for scale. Can it be driven around the neighbour hood as is??

pin

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Chris Instness on Monday, July 02, 2018 - 01:34 am:

Les,
It looks like the pin that holds the cam on the low gear pedal shaft. It should have been peened over on the ends to hold it in place but someone may have replaced it without doing that. If the cam was stuck on the pedal shaft, low gear will still work. Pull the inspection cover off again and look to see if there is a hole missing a pin on the cam of the low gear pedal shaft.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Kevin Pharis on Monday, July 02, 2018 - 01:45 am: