First model t, not starting

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2018: First model t, not starting
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By eric schaefer on Tuesday, July 03, 2018 - 04:17 pm:

I am new to the model t world. just picked up a model t roadster. I have been trying to get it back on the road for the last week or two but I am just not very familiar with the technology of these cars.

I bought the car not running and nothing turned on. I have since put a new 6v battery in it. New oil, got power to the coils and I can hear the coil boxes kick on now when on battery setting. Car cranks fine and almost wants to start but just kind of sputters. I opened the timer and cleaned it out and put a little oil in that and it still doesn’t want to fire up.

On top of this I notice a decent sized crack in the engine head. What are my options for this is it repairable? Is it most cost effective to get a stock head from someone and put that on with a new head gasket? Would a high compression head be worth the expense? Would this loss of compression prevent the car from starting?

Iím in the Austin/ Round Rock Texas area and would welcome any help out there.

My plan was to get it running and now this cracked head has me nervous.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By John Annaian - Moultonborough NH on Tuesday, July 03, 2018 - 04:28 pm:

Just had an issue like this. Make sure your carb is clean. You might even have to take it off and blow it out with an air compressor. It's easier to just drain it with the plug (assuming it's a standard Holley NH or something like it) and see what type of junk comes out. Check the fuel flow. If there is very little you might also want to drain the sediment bulb and check the screen for clogs.