Back To Painting The Engine...

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2018: Back To Painting The Engine...
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Bill Everett on Tuesday, July 03, 2018 - 04:22 pm:

I believe I'm going to paint the engine Rustoleum High Heat (2000 deg. F.) rattlecan.

Should I prime it with High Heat (also 2000 deg F.), or will that make the engine trap too much heat during routine driving?

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Hal Davis-SE Georgia on Tuesday, July 03, 2018 - 04:25 pm:

I'm no expert, but I've had pretty good luck with paint sticking directly to cast iron.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Hal Davis-SE Georgia on Tuesday, July 03, 2018 - 04:26 pm:

Oh, and I don't believe the high heat paint is needed. Your engine block probably never reaches 300, much less 2000.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Steve Jelf, Parkerfield KS on Tuesday, July 03, 2018 - 04:50 pm:

I use Rustoleum satin black. It looks good, resists oil & fuel, and needs no primer.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Bill Everett on Tuesday, July 03, 2018 - 04:51 pm:

Hal, good point about the block.

How hot do you suppose the head gets?

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Don - Conroe, TX on Tuesday, July 03, 2018 - 05:24 pm:

I've painted more engines with Rustoleum than I can remember.

Done it with primer and without primer. Can't say that it ever made any difference.

And for what it's worth, I've never used the high heat stuff...just the straight up plain stuff. And it's held up fine.