Temp Engine Refresh

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2018: Temp Engine Refresh
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Don - Conroe, TX on Wednesday, July 04, 2018 - 10:12 pm:

I bought a 1925 chassis for parts and will be installing the engine in my 24 Touring on a temporary basis. The plan is to run it for a couple years while I save up for a first class rebuild on my car's original engine.

I'm not a novice mechanic, but I am a novice Model T mechanic and I know I'll have a lot of questions. I'll use this thread to document the refreshing of this temp engine and to ask questions. I'd appreciate any help that the knowledgeable folks here can offer.

Here's the chassis. I paid $300 for it and am hoping it was money well spent. In addition to the engine, I'll be using several other bits like the rear springs, accessory engine support, battery cable support bracket, starter button, gas tank, and more.

I bought the chassis from a hotrodder who pulled the coupe body off to use in a ratrod project. He initially thought he'd get the T running, but gave up before even trying to start it. And thankfully so. He went absolutely hog-wild with blue RTV gasket sealant and gooped it everywhere...even on the head gasket.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Don - Conroe, TX on Wednesday, July 04, 2018 - 10:19 pm:

Today, I pulled the engine out of the chassis, placed it on an engine stand and started a limited disassembly.

I pulled off the head, the hogshead and the valve cover first. As I mentioned above...the previous guy went crazy with blue RTV. Thankfully, he never even tried to turn the engine over with this stuff all over everything.

(Message edited by rustyfords on July 04, 2018)