#3 plug lean

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2018: #3 plug lean
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By STEVEN COUCH on Saturday, July 07, 2018 - 10:19 am:

Hello Everyone, I am a recent owner of a 1927 Dr. Coupe. My first model T and oldest car I have ever owned. It has been sitting up a long time but sometimes in the past it has been painted, new top with a repo seat cover and new whitewall tires. Other than that it is original as they come. I have been trying to learn how to maintain and get the car roadworthy. I am an aircraft mechanic by trade and understand instructions and procedures and consider myself a fairly good mechanic. I have looked at the rear end dope and it seems to be fresh without and signs of babbitt. Do not know if thrust washers have been replaced. Topped it off with 600 weight. Adjusted the bands, stops and goes like it should, I think. It seems to be a little shaky when you take off in first and reverse but shifts out smooth. One of my issues is the #3 sparkplug looks like its running lean, clean as new, the others are gray but the car does not smoke or seem to burn oil. Is this normal? I have tightened up the manifolds. It idles well but seems to be popping/missing at any other setting. I did get it out on the highway and I think something is wrong with the engine. I have put in new fuel without alcohol and pulled the bowl off and is getting good fuel flow, cleaned the coil box. They are plastic and I noticed where they are put together they have gaps at the bottom. The plugs are Champion Xs but the electrode is an angled piece instead of a wire. I have looked but cannot find anything like it on the internet. I probably have many more questions but if I can get her running correctly than I can move on from there. Thanks and if anyone