Need help inspecting/re-greasing rear wheel bearings.

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2018: Need help inspecting/re-greasing rear wheel bearings.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By James Chochole, Oswego, IL on Monday, July 23, 2018 - 10:44 pm:

I have a rear wheel off my '24 Touring and want to look at my bearing in the wheel itself. I've never done this before so can anyone point me in a direction or explain how to do this?

I am familiar with the rear axle stuff just not the bearing inside the wooden wheel itself.

Thanks,
Jim

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Dallas landers on Monday, July 23, 2018 - 11:26 pm:

I dont believe there is any bearings in the rear wheel Jim. It the hub slides on the axle shaft. The bearings in the rear are in the axle housing. Now the front wheel hubs will have bearings.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Steve Jelf, Parkerfield KS on Tuesday, July 24, 2018 - 12:13 am:

Remove the end cap and pull out the bearing with a hook made from a piece of wire coat hanger or welding rod.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By James Chochole, Oswego, IL on Tuesday, July 24, 2018 - 12:36 am:

Steve, once I get the bearing pulled out, are there any guidelines to regreasing? And then itís a tap back in place with a mallet of some sort?

Thanks,
Jkm

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Steve Jelf, Parkerfield KS on Tuesday, July 24, 2018 - 12:55 am:

Just slather grease all over it and between the rollers and shove it back in. You shouldn't need to hit it.