Gearless Distributor for Model T Ford

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2018: Gearless Distributor for Model T Ford
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Dick Pakeman on Saturday, July 28, 2018 - 09:00 pm:

I am currently trialing a re-creation of a gearless distributor, having seen an early advertisement of one in a Model T accessory book.
I have it running on a spare motor but have yet to trial it out on the road.
I must say I am very pleased with the smooth running of motor with this fitted. I have had it running on a single KW trembler coil and also on a conventional coil, wired through a relay which allows the distributor to run on the flywheel magneto.
Please note I am NOT an auto electrician/ technician so there would be no point in asking me to elaborate on the finer points of how it works. I just know it does and leave it to others to nut out.
It is my intention to run this system on my Frontenac equipped motor within 6 months and can report back then.
Pakeman Gearless Distributor - InternalPakeman Gearless Distributor - ExternalRelay TopsideRelay Underside

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Dick Pakeman on Saturday, July 28, 2018 - 11:29 pm:

Forgot to add the image of the cap in-situ so here it is.Cap Insitu

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By George Andreasen on Sunday, July 29, 2018 - 12:41 am:

That's a VERY interesting gizmo! After your trials are done, how about posting any drawings/dimensions or theory you have? That is, unless you're going to market it of course! :-)

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Neil Kaminar on Sunday, July 29, 2018 - 06:13 pm: