Stipe camshaft

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2018: Stipe camshaft
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Mike Zahorik on Saturday, October 27, 2018 - 04:28 pm:

Recently a friend gave me two, what he called used Stipe 270 Model T camshafts. How does one tell if these are Stipe or not. Is there a mark somewhere, so far I have not seen it. Next I tried to measure the lift. I'm not a mechanic, but can use a micrometer to some degree. The base circle of these cams is about 0.808" and the heel to lobe tip is about 1.052". That to me says the lift is 0.244". SO either the cam is worn, doesn't look bad, or maybe it's a 250 Stipe cam? How can it tell for sure? Mike

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By joe bell on Saturday, October 27, 2018 - 04:51 pm:

Mike, at the back of Bill's cams are marked for what size they are, rear cam gearing end.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By joe bell on Saturday, October 27, 2018 - 04:53 pm:

should of said bearing end. sorry!

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Jack Putnam, Bluffton, Ohio on Saturday, October 27, 2018 - 05:07 pm:

The name Stipe is also stamped in the end.

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Mike Zahorik on Saturday, October 27, 2018 - 05:33 pm:

I looked at the shaft end, where the center hole is. There are no marking at all. The end has been rough ground to make it flat(er), but I don't see any markings of any kind. Could earlier Stipe cams not have been marked in with way, maybe is these are some of the first cams bill made? Mike