Solid Roller Bearing problems in the differential

Topics Last Day Last Week Tree View    Getting Started Formatting Troubleshooting Program Credits    New Messages Keyword Search Contact Moderators Edit Profile Administration
Model T Ford Forum: Forum 2018: Solid Roller Bearing problems in the differential
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Neil Kaminar on Saturday, November 03, 2018 - 09:03 pm:

This was originally discussed here:

http://www.mtfca.com/discus/messages/822076/898757.html

In that thread John Regan showed pictures of an axle which had been ruined by the cage of a solid roller bearing rubbing the axle. Below is a copy of one of the pictures he posted. The end plates on the cage have been wallowed out by the pins on the end of the rollers which allowed the plate to cut a groove in the axle.

I have been scratching my head for a couple months, trying to think of a way this could happen. In another thread there was mention of the importance of not having tapered bearings, shafts, or sleeves. I am wondering if this could have caused the failure that John showed.

If there is a taper in any of the parts, the rollers will not be running true. For instance, if the rollers are tapered, the larger end will be trying to catch up with the smaller end or the smaller end will lag behind the larger end. This will cause the rollers to move out of alignment and wallow out the holes in the end plates, causing in turn the plates to rub the axle.

John posted that the rollers were .500 diameter. If the rollers are tight between the shaft and sleeve the taper effect could be exaggerated. It may not take much of a taper to cause this problem.

What do you think? Does this sound reasonable?

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message  By Les Schubert on Saturday, November 03, 2018 - 09:23 pm: