Adjusting coils

Discuss all things Model T related.
Forum rules
If you need help logging in, or have question about how something works, use the Support forum located here Support Forum
Complete set of Forum Rules Forum Rules

Topic author
bobt
First Name: Robert
Last Name: Thompson
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: 1915 touring 1926 roadster

Adjusting coils

Post by bobt » Wed Feb 12, 2020 3:51 am

Hello. I'm a newb and have a question. Can you adjust coils while the engine is running without getting shocked? Thanks, bobt

Luke
First Name: Luke
Last Name: P
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: 1926

Re: Adjusting coils

Post by Luke » Wed Feb 12, 2020 4:28 am

Bob,

Although the points are on the low tension side you'll have back emf enough that you'd probably get a shock if you utilise non-insulated tools.

However the bigger question is why would you want to this? To what standard would you measure against?

Ordinarily coils are adjusted outside of the vehicle, via a number of possible different methods, then installed back in the car. This way they can easily be adjusted to a specific, known, criteria.

That said I suppose you could put an AC ammeter in series with each coil on the car and adjust to average current, but I wouldn't recommend it!

Humblej
First Name: Jeff
Last Name: Humble
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: 1926 Canadian built coupe, 1924 TT C-cab, survivor 1924 roadster
MTFCA Number: 28034
Board Member Since: 2006

Post by Humblej » Wed Feb 12, 2020 7:04 am

Do not adjust your coils yourself! It needs to be done out of the car by someone who has the special equipment and knowledge. This is not a job for a shade tree mechanic with hand tools. Either a modern electronic strobospark, or an origional hand crank coil tester (HCCT), with the knowledge to use them, is absolutely essential.
Last edited by Humblej on Wed Feb 12, 2020 12:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Jeff5015
First Name: Jeff
Last Name: Schroeder