Should I get a Model T or A?

Discuss all things Model T related.
Forum rules
If you need help logging in, or have question about how something works, use the Support forum located here Support Forum
Complete set of Forum Rules Forum Rules

Topic author
1194668jc
First Name: John
Last Name: Crespo
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: None! (For now...)

Should I get a Model T or A?

Post by 1194668jc » Tue May 19, 2020 7:44 pm

I'm 16 but love everything old. I am a ham radio operator using Morse code, I use typewriters to type up rough drafts for school, I collect films to watch on my projectors, I photograph with my 1930s 35mm camera, record music on a wire recorder, play ragtime on my 110 year old piano, etc. Now that I am reaching 18 years of age, I must begin to look for a car of choice. To own a Model T Ford was a dream I held since I was in grade school, but now that I have begun to realize it, 35 mph cruising seems a little unreliable. A Ford Model A cruising at 50 (and maybe a little more) seems better. But I don't know anymore. Should I pursue my old dream or stick to something a little more reliable. Or both? I am at $8,200 in my savings so far. I am just so unsure. Any opinions?

Kerry
First Name: Frank
Last Name: van Ekeren
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: 1916 touring, 1916 pick-up, 1924 coupe, 1926 touring, 1927 touring

Re: Should I get a Model T or A?

Post by Kerry » Tue May 19, 2020 7:56 pm

A nice dream to have but for todays world best to have a modern and the vintage for a playing with until you know every nut and bolt and all the problems that can see you sitting on the side of the hi-way'

NorthSouth
First Name: Steve
Last Name: California
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: 1911 Touring, 1912 Warren Speedster
MTFCA Number: 50392

Post by NorthSouth » Tue May 19, 2020 8:17 pm

GET A MODEL T
My grandfather was a doctor when they still made house calls. All he had was a Model T Ford.