Creating Patina ... Need Help

Discuss all things Model T related.
Forum rules
If you need help logging in, or have question about how something works, use the Support forum located here Support Forum
Complete set of Forum Rules Forum Rules

Topic author
modeltbarn
First Name: Gary
Last Name: London
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: 1911 Touring
MTFCA Number: 16592

Creating Patina ... Need Help

Post by modeltbarn » Sun May 24, 2020 11:06 pm

I’m working on a project and I need to make some sheet metal rust. I’ve seen the generic instructions on the web saying to use a mix of peroxide, vinegar and salt... it doesn’t sound like it gives a real significant rust coating.

I’m sure some of you have gone through this before, I’m new to it.

Many thanks!

jiminbartow
First Name: James
Last Name: Patrick
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: 1926 Coupe
MTFCA Number: 50126
Board Member Since: 2001

Re: Creating Patina ... Need Help

Post by jiminbartow » Sun May 24, 2020 11:28 pm

Go to www.micromark.com. Select menu in the upper left hand corner (3 horizontal lines), choose “hobby supplies”, scroll to bottom of list to “weathering” for all kinds of weathering patina chemicals. Jim Patrick

Topic author
modeltbarn

Post by modeltbarn » Mon May 25, 2020 1:03 am

Hi Jim

Most of what I find there are paints and pigments, and the sizes are for models. I need to do a few square feet, and need to force the metal to actually rust. Thank you for the idea, but it doesn’t seem to be quite what I need.

Burger in Spokane
First Name: Brent
Last Name: Burger
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: 1926 TT closed cab flatbed
Board Member Since: 2014

Post by Burger in Spokane » Mon May 25, 2020 1:16 am

Parking steel or iron near an open container of muriatic acid will cause rust right away.
Not sure how it affects brass and other non-ferrous metals.
More people are doing it today than ever before !

Allan
First Name: Allan
Last Name: Bennett