Oil Question

Discuss all things Model T related.
Forum rules
If you need help logging in, or have question about how something works, use the Support forum located here Support Forum
Complete set of Forum Rules Forum Rules

Topic author
TrashMan
First Name: Chuck
Last Name: Griffin
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: 1925 Tudor Sedan
MTFCA Number: 31570
Board Member Since: 2020

Oil Question

Post by TrashMan » Sat Dec 05, 2020 6:14 pm

I’m new to the model T world. Without getting into a big debate, I was wondering if anyone uses synthetic oil in their T? If so, what’s your opinion?

GEmering
First Name: Gene
Last Name: Emering
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: 1913 Touring and 1924 Touring
MTFCA Number: 49671
Board Member Since: 2018

Re: Oil Question

Post by GEmering » Sat Dec 05, 2020 6:24 pm

Your question will spur a tsunami of debate!
Google search, “MTFCA oil”.
Many will say that any modern oil is better than what was used when your T was new
Gene
Gene Emering
Newton, New Jersey

Oldav8tor
First Name: Tim
Last Name: Juhl
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: 1917 Touring
MTFCA Number: 50297
MTFCI Number: 24810

Post by Oldav8tor » Sat Dec 05, 2020 7:13 pm

Due to the fact that Model T's require frequent oil changes synthetic oil is expensive overkill..... Also, when choosing an oil remember that any oil containing graphite will kill your magneto so stay away from it.
1917 Touring
1946 Aeronca Champ
1952 Willys M38a1 Jeep (sold 2023)
1953 Ford Jubilee Tractor

Susanne
First Name: Susanne
Last Name: Rohner
* REQUIRED* Type and Year of Model Ts owned: Late '15 touring, "Angel".
MTFCA Number: 464
MTFCA Life Member: YES
Board Member Since: 1999

Post by Susanne » Sat Dec 05, 2020 7:19 pm

Expensiverer when you need to top it up, and you will find leaks where you thought you had none... :lol:

The only issues I would have:

It's slipperier than Dino or semi-dino oil - which isn't good for slipping clutches and bands.